The Oskar for self pity goes to…

When I spend money on myself in ways that seem excessive to me, I am sometimes reminded of the sequence towards the end of Spielberg’s Schindler’s List where Oskar Schindler breaks down saying “I had this ring. It could have saved one more life”.

On a bit of reflection though, I am reminded that such maudlin thoughts are but self-serving and reflective of ones inability or unwillingness to understand or meaningfully change the deep connection between our grotesque mode of life or perpetration by participation in inhuman social structures, and the very possibility of horrors like the Holocaust or the mindless deaths of people from hunger everyday.

And yet..

Leave a Reply

