Words worth

Books, old books,
Time capsules,
Carrying nostalgia.

Books, old books,
Hooking us,
With their peculiar smells.
(usually of a broken down wood polymer called lignin, a close cousin of vanillin. sometimes spilt coffee.)

Books, old books,
That we were taught,
To respect.
(sadly that’s what, many of us do, with nary a thought, to considering their words first instead)

Books, old books,
Taking up space, to point of worry,
Unlike my pocket library.

Books, old books,
Not all worthy,
Of any legacy.

So here I am,
Cutting and slicing,
Thrillers and Histories,
Science logs and mysteries,
Funny papers and poetrys,
All kinds of biographies,
Out, scythe, toss,
Im a rolling stone, No moss,
Into big cardboard boxes,
To be set among the foxes.

I’m out a 100 books already and it isn’t even a third my bookcase.. This is quite an experience. I doubt more than a couple of hundred of my former companions will survive today’s sunset.

3 thoughts on “Words worth

  1. Seema August 14, 2012 at 11:26 am Reply

    Awww… who did you give them away to? My grandpa’s old books smelt of smoked wood coz they were stored in a room next to the kitchen. I managed to salvage some from the termites, but I am not sure how to preserve them. There is an ancient volume of the Complete works of Shakespeare that my mom studied from. Most of it is kala akshar bhains barabar to me.

  2. Seema August 14, 2012 at 11:28 am Reply

    I meant smelled… “fused of smoked wood” doesn’t make sense does it?

  3. arun August 18, 2012 at 3:43 pm Reply

    Gave away most to a charity. Some going to Blossom for book vouchers. My grandpa had a huge collection which is stored away somewhere in my uncle’s house in Chennai. I have a 1961 edition of Catch 22 which he bought in London though 🙂

Leave a Reply

